Permission to ask a ridiculous question?

Here is a portion of our snow armory. We have a few drawers of tundra-fighting battle gear. Every WNY-er knows what that means.

Here is a portion of our snow armory. We have a few drawers of tundra-fighting battle gear. Every WNY-er knows what that means.

Before I ask the question, I suppose I need to offer a little bit of context.

It’s 12 degrees outside this morning. The “Reel Feel” is -1 degree. And it’s been snowing steadily for most of the past 24 hours. That right there is a good ole’ fashioned WNY day.

So here’s my question:

Would you send your kid to school without the proper protection against this weather?

Uh…no. None of us would. That’s the stupidest question I’ve ever heard of, Brett.

Thank you. I know. You’ll notice the title alluded to the fact that I agree with that assessment.

So why ask it?

Psalm 18:32 (Message)

“Is not this the God who armed me, then aimed me in the right direction?”

Just like we are the parent(s) who arm our children with what they need to be protected in the elements they are going to be aimed into…God will do the same with us if we take the time to receive it. I suppose the only difference is if my kids try to leave the house without tundra-gear on, I won’t let them…for their own protection. If we, as adults, take that approach with our emotions…God doesn’t make us do anything before we start our day. The whole free-will, you are an adult thing kicks in…and we get to choose.

I have a knack for asking God to “aim me in the right direction” though…like I can skip the “arming” step, first.

And that’s not on God, that’s on me.

I am so eager to go,

that I’m not prepared to be there once I arrive.

And that can bring a pretty big sense of frustration…even pain, as I go through my day.

It really is the little things in life. What can appear on the surface to be the “not-so-exciting, redundant, do-the-same-thing-over-and -over again” principles of discipline in our life that will prepare us to be able to handle the elements we are asking to be sent into. And the irony is, once we start doing it, it’s anything but boring…it’s fascinatingly eye-opening.

Our kids were bundled to the hilt today. It is freaking cold! And because they were, they got to school safely. Now they are in a place where they can learn, grow, laugh, and come home with stories about all of it.

It’s no different with us.

Spending time in prayer, reading the scriptures, and dare I say…solitude…is what we need first, so that we can be the parents, people, leaders, community members, team members we’ve been called to be after.

Less noise. Less clutter. Less confusion.

And for me, what I’m learning is I have to be very intentional about making that time. It means giving up another TV show, or mindless activity so I have enough hours in the day.

It’s not hard to find the time. It’s hard to stop being selfish long enough to spend the time.

At least that’s what I’m learning…every…single…day.

Thanks for listening, today.

I hope this encourages you. I hope you’ll take the time to enjoy the presence of God more than that presence of self. No, it’s not easy to set aside preference. But the protection and direction we’ll receive from God only comes in that moment of obedience.

We can remember it this way…

The next time we go to ask God to aim us in the direction we think we want, need or should go…we need to ask ourselves if we’ve done what we need to do to allow Him to arm us first.

Prayer. Scriptures. Solitude.

Armed…then aimed.

Have a great day today.

Until next time,

-Brett

Leave a Reply

