Day 1…April 19, 2012

CBB Daniel Fast Day 1

 

If you are reading this you have the opportunity to experience a very personal look into the days that led to the message of Comeback Bringing coming to life. Over the next 10 days I will be sharing what happened on the corresponding day of the fast I was on in April of 2012. It’s not by accident that there are 10 days from now until when the book “officially” releases on Monday, February 17, 2014.

A couple of weeks ago, during another very private time in study, I knew that God was prompting me to take on another 10 day fast in the days leading up to the release. During that study I also felt strongly that God was prompting me to share more details, more “behind the scenes” information if you will, about what I was experiencing during the original fast.

So this blog will be “taken over” for a time to focus on that time. Have no fear…I will get back to sharing interesting, funny and otherwise “you can’t make this stuff up” stories about my kids and life as a dad and husband. These 10 days are an opportunity to honor God and thank him for the words he laid on my heart that became COMEBACK BRINGING.

I’d love it if you came along. I’d love it if you took a few minutes each day to read this, and share it with others. Not because I want the attention, because quite frankly being this open about something so private isn’t exactly an easy thing to do. But if there is anything I have learned from this journey is it’s not about me. It’s about what God is calling me to do. And right now, that means sharing this with you.

I’d also love it if you decided to join me on the fast from now until the day the book releases. I will be doing what is referred to as a Daniel Fast. 10 days of fruits, vegetables, juices, water…and I will be adding nuts for protein…and just like I did the first time…coffee. Yes, I know it’s not a “real” Daniel Fast with the coffee in there. But this fast isn’t about legalistic expectations, it’s about my heart…it’s about thanking God…and it’s about honoring my relationship with him.

With that said, like I mention in the book, please be smart if you choose to join me on the fast. Talk to a doctor first. Some of you simply can’t and shouldn’t fast like this, and that’s ok. You can choose to fast TV, or anything else just as easily if you have a medical condition that precludes you from a food fast. So be safe, be smart, and do what you need to do to honor those things.

As I close this first post of the 10 days I want to share the one thought that landed on my heart that day by sharing some quotes from my journal back then. You’ll notice in the poster above some scripture too. I want you to read that. (It’s short). I want you to read that, because it will give great meaning to what comes on the subsequent days. Now remember, I had NO CLUE at the time why these two chapters in Psalms would be so meaningful. I would see soon enough…and so will you.

Here is an entry from my journal on April 19, 2012…

“Day 1 of Daniel Fast…It was a good day. Felt the strong presence of God. Took a 2 hr. nap, going to bed before 10pm. Need to RADICALLY COMMIT to taking better care of my body. It’s been no soda for nearly a month. TIME TO RAISE THE BAR.

PSALMS 126 & 127 POWERFUL TODAY.”

Thank you for taking the time to read this post. My prayer for you is that these 10 days will be a GREAT source of encouragement for you. If you are reading this, it’s not an accident. And if you would consider coming along for the journey, you won’t regret it.

Wherever you are at and whatever you are going through right now, know this…

You are loved by the God who created you very, very much. And I believe in you.

Welcome to the ride of your life.

It’s going to be worth every second.

I promise.

I know. Almost 2 years ago I went on it myself…and I know God will speak into your heart the exact words of love, encouragement and hope you need right now through the very same message.

Have a great night.

Enjoy Psalms 126 and 127.

I’ll see you back here tomorrow.

-Brett

Leave a Reply

