We need a 5th season.

MommySawyer1stDaySchool

Thankful.

We are in the season of expression of that word.

Seasons.

We have 4 of them.  Some more pronounced than others depending on where you live.  But always dependent on physical conditions and the elements that define them.  It got me thinking about what it really means to live in different seasons.

We won’t stay young forever.  We go from toned to round, tight to wrinkly, and immature to refined.  I guess it makes sense.  Life can take a toll on all of us.  I know it does to me.  I may feel 25, but I am 38.  I used to be able to eat anything, anytime and maintain a decent physique.  Now left to it’s own devices food races to my belt-line like the 8 car driven by Earnhardt Jr. at the speedway.  And for some reason, it likes to do victory laps there like it’s a day job.  And it used to be really funny when I would make a comment like “My butt just burped”. Now, I might get more than a few awkward stares from those within earshot if I said that.  (That was an actual comment that our son used to say when tacos got the best of him.  Can’t make this stuff up.)

So if seasons are so inevitable to come and go,

is there any real hope that we can fight that natural phenomena?

I would suggest that we better start trying in at least one area.

Thankfulness.

There is no need for that to show up on November 1st and disappear around January 2nd.

“But, Brett…it’s not that simple”.

I don’t mean to be too forward…wait…yes…yes, I do.

It is, and I will prove it.

Here is an exchange between my wife and our almost 4 year old, Sawyer.

_____________________________________________________________________________

(Here is the set-up in my wife’s words…”I’m in my room getting dressed and…”)

Sawyer: Something looks so beautiful!

Me: What looks so beautiful?

Sawyer: You!

_____________________________________________________________________________

There.  That’s it.  Short.  Sweet.  To the point.

We need to stop just thinking nice things, and start sharing them with the people we are thinking about.

That, my friends is not a season that needs to start and stop.

It needs to perpetually exist.

We try to endure, outlast and put up with so many different types of seasons.

Maybe it’s time we look for every opportunity we can to start one that never ends.

Gratitude and honor can create a season that holds the potential to solve much of what ails us.

The only question is will we hold our tongue or extend our words?

Everybody’s mom used to say “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all”.

Starting today I’d like to suggest we change our focus on that.

“If you have something nice to say, say it every time.”

Thanksgiving won’t be a temporary season at that point…

It will be a natural expression we share that defines our daily reality.

One we all need to live in, share and spread.

We will no longer live in a season of expression, rather a world of it’s permanence.

Now that would be something to be thankful for.

A 5th season.

One that never ends.

#Thanksliving.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

