“A Mom Minute”

Oscar door

 

Recently, my wife captured one of the many memorable moments in the life of being a parent in a post on Facebook.

__________________________________________________________

“Oscar was sent to his room a bit ago for rolling his eyes at me and talking back. He called down the stairs to me a few minutes ago and asked if he could come down. I said no and that I would be up in a minute.

Oscar: Does that mean an actual minute?

Me: That’s my kind of minute. A Mom Minute!

Oscar: UGHH! ( Door Slam)

Brett and I sit laughing hysterically. Bedtime will soon commence!”

_________________________________________________________

Why do I share this?

As an encouragement to parents.

As parents it can get incredibly hard to catch your breath sometimes.  And truth be told I think fathers struggle to really have a concept of how hard.  I know in my life I wish I could step up and say I was the glue in our family, but that would be a big fat lie.  It’s my wife.  When she is sick and can’t function (which thank the Lord above isn’t often) our home becomes chaos.  Not because the kids and I are unable to generally take care of ourselves.  I mean, we can “fend” for ourselves.

But…

We can’t care for us the way my wife does.  It’s like she has super human powers.  She sees stuff before we see it.  She can find things, fix things, heal things and make things that evade our grasp.

So when a night like tonight happens, I smile.

Behind the comment “A mom minute” is the wisdom that is the reason my children are who they are. The ability my wife has to notice a moment for what it is.

A teachable one.

It’s true that moms have eyes in the back of their head, while dads often struggle to use the ones in the front of theirs. If you don’t believe me, ask any mom on the planet if their husband or children have ever said they can’t find something and the mom walks in and pulls it out of wherever they just looked like a magic trick.

When my wife came back with the comment “My kind of minute.  A mom minute!”, our son may not have liked the answer, but he learned a lesson.

The world does not revolve around your personal preference as a result of your poor choice.

When this type of intentional structure and discipline is in place before the fact, the lesson not to repeat what put Oscar in his room in the first place is more likely to land deep in his heart after the fact.

So the next time one of your kids gets frustrated because you won’t jump in response to their “need” when they’ve blown it…

Bust out with the phrase…

“In a mom minute!”

The patience, respect and diligence to show honor that they learn while they wait is worth the sigh and the door slam.

I Promise.

 

Leave a Reply

