And Now You Know…

This was me getting the opportunity to speak to over 2 dozen college students last Friday when they launched a comeback...giving up a week of vacation to serve the community they go to college in.  Great Time!

This was me getting the opportunity to speak to over 2 dozen college students last Friday when they launched a comeback…giving up a week of vacation to serve the community they go to college in. What an honor that was!

I really like sports.  OK, I LOVE sports.  The Super Bowl doesn’t have the best memories for me as an Eagles fan (lost 2 in my lifetime), and for someone who lives in Bills country and has seen many a disappointed friend as the Bills lost their’s too.

As tonight’s game started back up after the partial blackout, I am not sure anyone expected or realized what would happen next.

San Francisco, if you asked many, was “out of it”.  In less than 3 minutes that changed.

I realize that most people will focus on the sports aspect of tonight.  Along with 7 layer bean dip, pizza, wings…well you get the point on how food really is a 1-2 punch for a night like tonight.

But…there is something I have on my heart that I need to share tonight.  

If you saw my tweet’s tonight you noticed that they were very specific, and related to the book I am writing, “Comeback Bringing”.  It is about “how we can launch a comeback that will leave a legacy of impact”.  Some of you might have been thinking, “Come on, Brett, it’s just a game.  Lighten up.  Enjoy watching football.  Not EVERYTHING revolves around this comeback thing”.

Here is a text I received from a friend at 8:46pm tonight, right after the power outage at the Super Bowl…

“It’s the Super Bowl and I’m not drunk!”

I have a friend, who for this night it isn’t about football, never has been and never will be. It used to be quite the opposite.  It was the perfect cover to get drunk and feed an addiction that they were facing.  No one questioned what this person was doing, because…after all…the Super Bowl is one of the biggest parties of the year.  Everyone is happy on Super Bowl night, right?

No.  No, they are not.

Some people are in pain.  A lot of pain.  Some people need someone to reach through the hype and offer more.

Let me ask you this question.  What was your favorite ad tonight?  Do you have one? Sure.  I do too.  And at the end of the day, what is that ad supposed to be doing?  It is supposed to be changing our mindset, behaviors and consumption habits.

Nothing more, nothing less.

So tonight, if I posted something about www.ComebackBringing.com, and you weren’t sure it fit…

Reconsider based not on how you read the tweet, but on how the person that was hurting did.

Reconsider based on how the person who needed more than football tonight to meet them where they were at.

Reconsider based on how the ads we heard tonight were geared to grab us for something we don’t need/shouldn’t have anyway.

Read it, hear it and absorb it for the person that needs it based on wanting to be able to walk away from pain, addiction, hurt, loss…on a night when everyone around them seems to be perpetually happy, and they couldn’t manufacture that emotion if they tried.

For the person that so badly…just wants to type a short text that says…

“It’s the Super Bowl and I’m not drunk!”

By the way…

My favorite ad was the one with Paul Harvey’s voice.  (The Dodge Ram- “Farmer” commercial)

A man famous for 9 words…

“And…now you know…the rest of the story”.

That’s how I feel about my multiple mentions of #ComebackBringing, and the text from a friend who used to be hurting really bad on a night like tonight.  I didn’t have a choice but to tweet what I did.  Because someone, somewhere…where my friend used to be…

…needed more.

Because tonight, someone’s life needed a comeback.

And…now you know…the rest of the story.

Leave a Reply

